Unit Leadership

Unit Leadership

Our Unit instructors are a team. Together they have over 8 years of JROTC Instructor experience and over 55 years of active-duty experience. Our Cadet Company Staff for the 2018/2019 school year were hand-selected based on the demonstrated leadership skills they exhibited last school year. Please click on the links below to learn about our Unit leadership.


Senior Naval Science Instructor

Captain Jonathan D. Picker, USN (Ret)

Captain Picker graduated from the University of Washington in 1983 and received his commission through the NROTC Scholarship Program. He subsequently attended flight school in Pensacola, Florida and was designated a Naval Aviator in February 1985.

Read more about Captain Picker here.

Naval Science InstructorSCPO Beck

Senior Chief Petty Officer Justin R. Beck, USN (Ret)


A native of Aberdeen, WA, Senior Chief Beck enlisted in the Navy October 15th, 1991. He attended Basic Training in Great Lakes, Illinois, followed by SONAR Technician Surface "A" School. After Graduating STG"A" School as Honor Man, he attended ITASS "C" School and AN/SQQ-89 Operations School in San Diego, California.

To read more about Senior Chief Beck click here

Cadet Staff

The Roughrider Company Cadet Staff, guided by the Naval Science Instructors, create the unit goals and direct the Cadet Company in accomplishing these goals. The Cadet Staff is the heart and soul of our NJROTC Unit, and the extra time and effort they put in is directly reflected in every success we enjoy.

Position Rank Name
Commanding Officer LCDR Benjamin Yesiki
Executive Officer LT Dakota Manley
Command Senior Chief SCPO Ben Clark
Operations Officer LT Makayla Peabody
Assistant Operations Officer LTJG Sundar Woodyard
Supply Officer ENS
Emma Murphy
Asst Supply Officer CPO Mason Reynolds
Asst Supply Officer CPO Kayla Turner
Administrative Officer LTJG Markus Musalek
Asst Admin Officer
CPO Betty Cameron
Public Affairs Officer CPO Jenna Gates
Asst Public Affairs Officer
Weapons Officer SCPO Ben Clark
Advisory Officers PO1 Dylan Iotte
     PO2 Taylor Martin
PT Team Commander ENS
Raynan Mani
Air Rifle Team Commander LT
Dakota Manley
Color Guard Team Commander
Markus Musalek
Armed Drill Team Commander LCDR
Benjamin Yesiki
Unarmed Drill Team Commander LT Makayla Peabody
Cyber Patriot Team Commander LTJG
Markus Musalek
Academic Team Commander LT Makayla Peabody