Unit Leadership

Unit Leadership

Our Unit instructors are a team. Together they have over 13 years of JROTC Instructor experience and over 54 years of active-duty experience. Our Cadet Company Staff for the 2020/2021 school year were hand-selected based on the demonstrated leadership skills they exhibited last school year. Please click on the links below to learn about our Unit leadership.


Senior Naval Science Instructor

Captain Jonathan D. Picker, USN (Ret)

Captain Picker graduated from the University of Washington in 1983 and received his commission through the NROTC Scholarship Program. He subsequently attended flight school in Pensacola, Florida and was designated a Naval Aviator in February 1985.

Read more about Captain Picker here.

Naval Science InstructorSCPO Beck

Senior Chief Petty Officer Justin R. Beck, USN (Ret)


A native of Aberdeen, WA, Senior Chief Beck enlisted in the Navy October 15th, 1991. He attended Basic Training in Great Lakes, Illinois, followed by SONAR Technician Surface "A" School. After Graduating STG"A" School as Honor Man, he attended ITASS "C" School and AN/SQQ-89 Operations School in San Diego, California.

To read more about Senior Chief Beck click here

Cadet Staff

The Roughrider Company Cadet Staff, guided by the Naval Science Instructors, create the unit goals and direct the Cadet Company in accomplishing these goals. The Cadet Staff is the heart and soul of our NJROTC Unit, and the extra time and effort they put in is directly reflected in every success we enjoy.

Position Rank Name
Commanding Officer LCDR Luke Gavin
Executive Officer LT Naaman McGuffey
Command Senior Chief SCPO Ashlynn Helgeson
Operations Officer LT Addie Lomax
Asst Operations Officer  LT Braydon Mahany
Supply Officer ENS
Clara Murphy
Asst Supply Officer ENS Jenna Sanders
Administrative Officer LTJG William Rife
Asst Admin Officer
ENS Javen Descala
Public Affairs Officer CPO Cheyenne Maggard
Asst Public Affairs Officer PO1 Kaeden Murphy
Weapons Officer PO3 Brian Guttormsen
Advisory Officer LT Braydon Mahany
PT Team Commander LTJG
William Rife
Air Rifle Team Commander CPO
Cheyenne Maggard
Color Guard Team Commander
Naaman McGuffey
Armed Drill Team Commander LTJG
William Rife
Unarmed Drill Team Commander CPO Sage Hunter
CyberPatriot Team Commander LT
Naaman McGuffey
Academic Team Commander LT Addie Lomax